LOOK FOR LESS

I love designer styles, but I don’t love the huge price tag that comes along. A huge advocate for affordable alternatives, I like to achieve a stylish look with a budget that won’t place me in bankruptcy. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – style and fashion isn’t all about spending a ton of money on expensive products; it’s about knowing how to work with what you have. A perfect example would be my LBD that I wore in this post. It only cost me $8 (no joke!), yet it has received more compliments from strangers than any other apparel in my closet has! To be perfectly blunt, just because you have a $5000 Chanel handbag, or the newest pair of Jimmy Choo stilettos, doesn’t necessarily mean you can pull it off.

As you can probably tell from below, I love the leather look. I also really love Rag & Bone and Balmain, amongst many other brands, and I enjoy keeping my eye out for similar pieces. This is one look that includes some of my most coveted items, paired with their affordable but equally stylish alternatives I’ve found.

THE BALMAIN BIKER LEATHER JACKET
It’s so beautiful. The quilted panels give off a tough-chick look and would be a great contrast with the girly outfits (think flared dress). But with a $2890 (on sale!) price tag, this biker jacket remains an unattainable dream for me. In the meantime, however, Topshop sells a somewhat similar jacket for a mere $100. Granted, Topshop’s jacket isn’t real leather, but that’s not a dealbreaker for me.

leather jackets FINISH

But if you’re into the suede look, Mango has a great jacket that offers a similar quilted panel.

13089003_02_B

THE RAG & BONE LEATHER PANTS
Imagine this with 5-inch pointed toe patent leather pumps. So sexy, so fierce! It’s super versatile – you can pair it with a casual white tee and booties during the day for a laidback chic look, and then when nighttime rolls around, swap the white tee with a black sequin top and your sexiest heels, and you’re ready to take on the night and turn heads. The brand and the 100% lambskin makes these Rag & Bone pants in the $1K range, but this alternative pair of faux leather pants from River Island will only cost you $70.

leather pants FINISH

THE JIMMY CHOO OVER THE KNEE BOOTS
I’m such a sucker when it comes to over the knee boots. Styled wrongly, it can certainly pass off as trampy. But styled smartly, they can become your best accessories. OTK boots create the illusion of never-ending legs, and who wouldn’t want that? Sure they may give off an intimidating feel, but they’re essentially a timeless footwear piece. I love this Jimmy Choo pair in all its non-slouchy form, and the Rock & Republic boot (albeit in suede) isn’t so bad either, especially its nice below-$100 price.

shoes FINISH

THE PROENZA SCHOULER PS1 SATCHEL
The Proenza Schouler PS1 satchel is such a classic look. At first glance, it sort of reminds me of the Cambridge satchel but in a more relaxed form. The bag, especially in this taupe/tan color, is simple yet sophisticated. It’s not necessarily something I would bring to a fancy party, but it would be a fantastic everyday bag. Low-key, casual, smart. Bag Inc offers a similar bag, appropriately named “The Most Coveted Bag For Years.”

bags FINISH

Leave a Reply

