LA ART SHOW 2014

wall art

On Friday, I cleared out my schedule so I could immerse myself within the art world by visiting the LA Art Show held at the Los Angeles Convention Center (thanks LivingSocial for the discounted tickets!). I didn’t really know what to expect, since it was my first time attending and I had only heard vague details about it, but I was pleasantly surprised to find myself swept away by some of the pieces. Modern art can be quite befuddling, but the ones that captured my attention were those that provoked thought and interpretation, and, interestingly enough, most of these centered around dark and twisted themes.

20140117_153334

The above collection, created by artist Danny Galieote, featured individual paintings that appeared to be of innocent nature. In each picture, a faceless woman is posed in seemingly harmless situations (such as picking up the phone, serving dessert, etc), but behind her back, she holds some sort of weapon – a pan, brass knuckles, knife. Cue interpretation.

20140117_15271020140117_152700

The above, created by Andrew Myers, was definitely one of my favorites. If you’re just facing directly towards the piece, you may just pass it off as a regular bit of painting. But upon closer inspection, you’ll see that the subject is made entirely of nails inserted in at various depths to create a 3-D effect. Slightly trippy? Why yes, just a bit. But that is what makes it such a unique piece.

Jean-Francois-Rauzier-Thousand-Kisses.-Waterhouse-Dodd-U.K.-U.S

This last one – A Thousand Kisses by Jean-Francois Rauzier – made quite a lasting impression on me.  Neither dark nor twisted, it offered a sense of sentimental magic to viewers and features the artist himself standing in the center with his wife, gazing into an infinite space filled with screens and sculptures depicting imagery of couples kissing pulled from classic movies, television, and fine art. Perhaps it’s playing upon the power of a first kiss? Either way, the calming blue and grey hues, paired with the electrifying lights glowing from the thousand screens, made it difficult for me to walk away.

20140117_162456_5

Leave a Reply

