PARIS COUTURE WEEK FAVORITES PT 2

Ralph & Russo
Ralph & Russo

So a couple of days ago, I posted some of my favorite Pre-Fall 2014 collections in relation to the just-ended Paris Haute Couture Week 2014.

But let me just backtrack a bit and give a brief clarification, since I think some confusion was sparked. Paris Couture Week is not exactly the same as Paris Fashion Week. PFW hasn’t happened yet this year, and it’s not going to happen until February 25, 2014. Fashion Month, AKA the four-city marathon of shows happening in New York, London, Milan, and Paris, starts in early February, with the first stop in New York City, but before all of that craze begins, we had the Paris Couture Week (Jan 20 – 23, 2014), which showcased the most luxurious and breathtaking gowns and suits by some of the world’s most prestigious fashion houses.

So, seeing as Couture Week 2014 just finished its run in Paris yesterday, here I am rounding out the last of my picks from my favorite designers.

RalphRusso

Ralph & Russo: So apparently, this was the first time a British design house was invited to show its collection on the official couture calendar since 1915, and I’m not surprised that Ralph & Russo made the cut. I love that this debut collection exudes the early 20th century glamour. The details and flourishes all complement well with the varying structure contrasts in delicacy and boldness, making all these designs red-carpet-ready and perfect for every personality. Can you say these are super original? Perhaps not, as these two gowns above do remind me of Ralph Lauren’s style, but nevertheless… absolutely gorgeous and elegant is all I can say.

Giorgio Armani Prive

Giorgio Armani Privé: Basically, the definition of Oscar-worthiness. There is just something mystically magical about Armani’s SS2014 collection. Perhaps it is the lighting and the overall presentation in the show, but I do attribute it mostly to the gowns themselves. Armani proved his competence (not that he needs to) as a fashion design legend by revealing his exquisite craftsmanship in this new set of sparkling evening gowns that embraced a blue/purple color theme. Perfect for the classiest of classy ladies, like the designer’s muse Cate Blanchett, to don.

Zuhair Murad

Zuhair Murad: I’ve been a fan of this designer for so long that I cannot remember which of his many collections was the one that had stolen my heart away. Quite often, I would change my mind about my “favorite designer,” but Zuhair Murad has continuously blown me away with his designs and has always been at the top of my list. I’ve always said that, given the chance to wear a red-carpet-appropriate gown from any designer, no matter what cost, I would choose Zuhair Murad in a heartbeat (maybe it’s also because I’m a sucker for sweetheart necklines), and I still stand by that! Gold leaves seem to be the theme for this couture collection, and I’m surprised that something so simple could make a gown even more breathtaking. Dreamy and polished, these designs are fit for a queen.

Versace Atelier

Versace Atelier: Does anyone else think of mermaids, or even femme fatales, when they see these gowns? Or is it just me? Maybe it’s the soft color scheme paired with the sparkling fabrics, but I find it hard to dismiss the comparison. I particularly love the above four looks. Everything about them – from the high leg slit to the geometric cut-outs – works to complete perfection. I just can’t get over how much I’m in love with these gowns!

Elie Saab

Elie Saab: How can anyone not think Elie Saab is pure fashion genius? He really can do no wrong when it comes to designing. Like Zuhair Murad, Elie Saab has consistently been one of my great loves. In this couture collection, he brings back his signature flowy style, which I’ve always been a fan of. I love the fluidity of the skirts; it emits such a surreal feel (check out that ombre gown!). I don’t usually like repetition of words, but I can’t seem to stray away from the L word, because I simply love love LOVE this collection. If Zuhair Murad’s collection is made for a queen with all its sparkling qualities, then these softer looks from Elie Saab are fit for a princess.

That’s it for now. I’m quite excited to see the shows during Fashion Month, even though I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Fashion Weeks. It’s always been one of my life goals to be invited to sit in on these shows, but as that is seemingly impossible right now (or in this lifetime, to be honest), I can only view everything on my computer, which means that every time Fashion Month rolls around, I spend 90% of my life sitting, glued to the internet and satiating my eyes with photos released from the fashion shows.

Happy ogling!

Photos courtesy of Fashionising

Leave a Reply

