POWER SMOOTHIE: JOSEPHINE EDITION

DSC06684_2

I honestly don’t know how I would survive without a blender.

Sometimes, plain juice from the local market just isn’t enough, because nothing is more refreshing on a hot day than a personally blended icy healthy power fruit smoothie. I’m not greatly fond of the green-juice fad, but I do love blending fruits together to create a great drink that not only quenches my thirst but also boosts my body with antioxidants and vitamins. Unfortunately, I find myself slacking on the suggested daily fruit intake, and it takes me forever to get through fruit, but I’ve realized that by blending it all together into an easily ingested drink, I get those important daily vitamins and also manage to quickly polish off the fruits in my fridge before they start growing mold. Smoothies are really simple, but in case you’d like a guideline and want to see what I put into my power fruit smoothies, read on!

What you’ll need:

  • A functional blender
  • 4 ice cubes
  • Half a shot of chia seeds
  • 3 cups of strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of Greek yogurt
  • Water or orange juice (add to your desire)

I like to think of the strawberries as my main ingredient, so I tend to add at least two cups (depends on how many servings I want to make) into my blender. Bananas are one of the fruits I’m not a big fan of, but I can tolerate them if I blend them into my smoothie and mask the taste with the other ingredients. Other fruits I like to throw in along with the strawberries and bananas if I happen to have them handy are: pineapples, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, mangoes (they all go so magically well together!).

It’s also important to add some liquid into your concoction to help the ingredients blend well together. Water is definitely the healthier alternative to juice to add in, and how much liquid you add will ultimately affect how thick or thin your resulting smoothie will be. Do you want your drink to be thin like juice? Add more water. Do you prefer your drink to be thicker/creamier? Add less water. I usually prefer adding orange juice as opposed to water simply because I like the taste better, but what you add is up to you! Also, a helpful tip if you test-taste your smoothie and want it to be sweeter: add some honey or raw organic cacao powder into it and blend!

Lately, I’ve also been adding two new ingredients: 1) Greek yogurt and 2) chia seeds. Chia seeds, tasteless and easy to attain from your local grocery and health food stores, are high in fiber and omega-3, as well as manganese, calcium, and phosphorus. Basically, they are a super food that helps maintain heart, brain, and digestive health, combat illnesses, promote strong teeth and bones, and regulate your sleep and overall mood. Likewise, Greek yogurt is also high in calcium and assists in maintaining your digestive health.

So there you have it – A fast and easy but super healthy (and DELICIOUS) drink to help you power through your day!

DSC06679_2DSC06692_2 DSC06700_2 DSC06702_2 DSC06708_3

 Photos by Joselyn and Josephine

Outfit as seen in this post

One thought on “POWER SMOOTHIE: JOSEPHINE EDITION

Leave a Reply

