ULTRAMARINE

DSC08098_2

Exciting news for those of you who have been coveting my 3.1 Phillip Lim for Target bag! As you might have known, the capsule collection was highly anticipated and therefore sold out in mere hours after being launched online and in stores at Target back in September 2013, and ever since then, the only way you could get your hands on the bags would be to prowl around eBay (or Amazon.com) looking for a seller who happened to be selling at a reasonable price (I’ve seen some ridiculously hiked-up prices for these 3.1 Phillip Lim x Target bags!).

Anyways, I came across this imitation bag the other day and immediately thought to share it with you all, especially since I’ve received so many compliments on my own bag. While this imitation one may not have been created by the great Phillip Lim himself, it looks almost the same (actually, I’m not sure how I feel about the uncanny resemblance because what if people start assuming my bag is just an easily acquired knock-off even though I took great pains to acquire it?) for a fraction of the price.

Now, I haven’t personally touched the Mix No. 6 version so I can’t exactly vouch for it, but if it’s anything like the 3.1 Phillip Lim for Target mini one that I have, it’s durable and timeless and serves as a stylish yet functional crossbody bag, not to mention that it’s super easy to style. It’s been so humid and hot recently that I’ve been having a reluctant time wearing tight clothing and heels (casual heeled booties are OK), so this swing dress, paired with the crossbody, was an apt choice in light of the weather. I also could no longer stand the feeling of my hair sticking to my neck, so I pinned it up into an easy bun (a huge bun, I know; I have a lot of hair). Here’s a great tip: instead of fussing with a bunch of bobby pins and countless tries of getting the perfect smooth bun, try using a hair donut. It’s so easy to use! Here’s another great tip: Buy your hair donut from eBay. I’ve seen this little hair tool run $4 – $6 in stores, but I got mine with no problem at all for less than a dollar, free shipping included! If you buy from the seller I used, you can also choose among three sizes (for reference, mine is size L, because, again, I have A LOT of hair) as well as three colors to match your hair (I got the brown).

Hope you learned something useful here today, and as always, thanks so much for reading!

DSC08108_2_3DSC08110_2 DSC08115_2 DSC08102_2 DSC08099_2 DSC08103_2 DSC08105_2 DSC08116_2 DSC08117_2 DSC08123_2

Dress: Forever 21 (similar here, here, and here)
Booties: Madden Girl
Bag: 3.1 Phillip Lim for Target (similar)

Photos by Herman

7 thoughts on “ULTRAMARINE

Leave a Reply

