BACK TO BASICS

DSC08143_2

Hope everyone’s been having a great weekend!

Fashion may be constantly evolving, but basics will forever remain constant. And what could be more basic than a simple yet comfortable white v-neck tee with jeans?

Not only is it basic, it’s also classic. You can dress it up or down however you like and chances are, the result will look good because it honestly is really hard to go wrong with those two items. I chose to forgo the skinnies and the jeggings and go with the kick boot jean from American Eagle instead, and since I believe pairing jeans that offer even the slightest bit of flare with flats will produce a stumpy effect, I balanced the look with white pumps (last seen here) to match the tee color and contrast the relaxed shape of my top. The kick boot jean is essentially a fresh take on the classic boot-cut style, and the best part of this pair is that it’s made with super stretch fabric, which allows for easy movement and comfort!

Other favorite white v-neck tees at budget-friendly prices:
H&M – $5.95
Zara – $9.90
Gap $14.00
Express – $19.90 
J. Crew – $24.50
Madewell – $25.00

One gripe I have with white tees is that I have to be careful with what bra I’m wearing. I want something with a design/color that won’t show through, but I don’t want the cup ridge and/or outline of it to be obvious either. And naturally, if I opt for a relaxed t-shirt, then I want to be as comfortable as possible (otherwise, that would sort of negate the purpose of the tee decision), and I don’t want my bra to impede with that in any way. As a result, the optimal bra for a white tee would be something that’s light and neutral in color, plain in design, and so comfortable that you forget you’re wearing one. I’m very partial to Victoria’s Secret, so I’ve pulled up six ideal choices from six different VS collections that would complement a white shirt. I’ve tested every one of these collections, and you’ll find something from each in my undergarments cabinet, so I do speak from experience! All six styles offer great comfort, smoothing silhouettes, and, with some, lightweight memory-foam padding that contours to your curves for the best fit!

bras

Top row, L to R:
Fabulous by Victoria’s Secret Push-Up Bra in Pale Plum
Body by Victoria Push-Up Bra in Ballet Grey w/ Lace Trim
Incredible by Victoria’s Secret Demi Bra in Soft Nude

Bottom row, L to R:
Simply Strapless Demi Bra in Winterberry
The T-Shirt Demi Bra in Nude Marl 
Angels by Victoria’s Secret Dream Angels Push-Up in White

And what’s shopping without scoring amazing freebies? Until tomorrow – MONDAY, 8/4/2014 – you can get a limited edition Victoria’s Secret getaway duffle bag, free with your $75 purchase! I actually have one myself (in last year’s design) and it’s sturdy and fabulous and I love it, so it’s only fair that I share the good deal!
newbag

To make your shopping experience even more pleasant, here’s a great collection of current Victoria’s Secret deals you can take advantage of.

Thanks for reading!

P.S. How amazing was the sunset yesterday? I love sunsets!

DSC08153

DSC08127_2DSC08133_2 DSC08140_2 DSC08145_2 DSC08151_2 DSC08129_2 DSC08132_2 DSC08134_2 DSC08138_2 DSC08144_2 DSC08126_2

Top: Forever 21 (similar here, here, and here)
Denim: American Eagle – free shipping + $10 off on jeans, limited time!
Heels: Enzo Angiolini (similar here, here, and here)
Bag: Michael Kors

Photos by Herman

2 thoughts on “BACK TO BASICS

  1. Josephine,

    I love your blog and your impeccable style! It really made me want to jump start my own blog and start blogging about things I like too.

    -Marianne

    P.S. I want your white pumps!

Leave a Reply

