COLLAR ME MINE

DSC09918_2

I don’t usually post on Sundays, but since it’s been a while since my last update, I figured it was best to put up some new content on here before the blog officially became a ghost-town. So…here we go with something that’s slightly different from my usual style!

More than once, I’ve voiced my view of fashion as a world that challenges you to push the limits of your creativity and comfort zone, so I thought it was about time I put more action into those words. I don’t remember ever feeling comfortable enough to wear over-the-knee socks by themselves – OTK boots, yes, but never OTK socks (or stockings, for that matter, unless they’re hiding behind my OTK boots). But I decided that it would be interesting to try it out by playing with some juxtaposition. And so, cue the white-collared black dress (model Emily Ratajkowski wore something similar last year). Preppy doesn’t have to be boring; with the high collared neckline and the 60’s-inspired shift dress, it was simply too tempting to shake things up a bit and contrast the conservative look with something a little more daring like over-the-knee legwear. To take the juxtaposition even further, the pointed collar, as opposed to the more feminine peter-pan collars, exudes a sharp masculinity that’s balanced out by the A-line silhouette of the dress. Additionally, the white collar works just as well as a statement necklace in breaking up the monotony of an all-black dress. Although this particular dress I’m wearing comes with the collar attached, the look is super easy to recreate with a collared white blouse (or a detachable collar) and a plain black shift dress, and I actually would recommend this method because of the extra versatility that’s available to you (wear the dress without the collar, pair the blouse with a skirt, wear the blouse under a sweater…the possibilities are endless). But, if you’re not much into layering, I do love this sleeveless swing version and this slightly more formal lace-collar dress too.

As always, thanks for reading! Cheers to the start of a new week!

DSC09953_2 bbb DSC09933_2DSC09959_2 DSC09941_2 aaa DSC09954_2 DSC09980 ccc DSC09986_2

Dress: Tobi (similar)
Booties: Sam Edelman (similar)
Legwear: Hanes (socks here)
Bag: Mango (similar)
Accessories: Express cuff, vintage bracelets

Photos by Herman

[Follow me on Instagram and Bloglovin]

5 thoughts on “COLLAR ME MINE

Leave a Reply

