COMFY WHITES

DSC03810_23

I used to be a Converse girl. And then I became an Adidas girl. And then I stopped wearing sneakers altogether.

A couple of years ago, wedge sneakers started trending and I found myself back in the sneaker game. Converse dominated my sneaker collection for a short while, but then Adidas took over again. Even though I’ve worn my fair share of different sneakers throughout all this time, one color has been a steady choice: white. It’s so clean, classic, and delightfully versatile, from complementing the most casual of outfits to adding whimsy to a dressier look (like with this flounce dress). But with white comes the headache of keeping it white, so below, I’ve shared 9 easy hacks to keep your white sneakers clean and bright.

  1. Never toss them into the washing machine. It’s the easiest way to damage any pair of shoe!
  2. Use white nail polish to cover up minor scratches.
  3. Use a Mr. Clean wipe, magic erase, or a rag dipped in vinegar to spot-clean stains.
  4. Use an old toothbrush to clean hard-to-reach areas…. but be gentle in the scrubbing.
  5. Clean white laces by rinsing them with warm water and gentle soap… not by throwing them in the washing machine.
  6. After you’re done cleaning your shoes, stuff them with paper towels to speed up the drying process.
  7. Use your gentlest shampoo, warm water, and a toothbrush to eliminate any oil stains.
  8. Store your sneakers indoors in a cool place, as too much sun exposure results in fading and discoloration.
  9. If you must use bleach to fight blemishes, make sure the bleach is diluted. Standard ratio is one part bleach to five parts water.

I actually spent a good chunk of today writing and analyzing, so my brain is currently pretty fried at this point. I apologize that today’s post isn’t one of my best work, so it is with more gratitude than usual as I say a huge thank you for reading today! Better content coming at you later this week, so stay tuned!

DSC03817_2 DSC03838_2 DSC03823_3DSC03827_2

Dress: J. Crew
Cardigan: Express
Bag: Mansur Gavriel
Shoes: Adidas (another great pair here)

Photos by H

[[ Follow on Instagram | Bloglovin ]]

One thought on “COMFY WHITES

Leave a Reply

